The first cup took place in 1955. It’s the yearly football competition organized Union of European Football Associations which hosts 32 teams in the group stage. Considered to be one of the most prestigious football tournaments in the sports industry, the event attracts an overwhelming crowd across Europe as well as football fans across the globe. The final event of 2012-13 had the highest Tv ratings with 300 million viewers. The championship begins in late June with three qualifying rounds and a play-off round, all played over two legs.

Real Madrid:

Real Madrid has managed to pull of the title 13 times and since its inception in 1955, only 22 clubs have won the tournament. Alone in the 1950s, the club won five consecutive championships elevating the goodwill of the club among the football audience. Madrid happens to be the richest football club in the world and was awarded the FIFA Order of merit in 2004 for its contribution to the sports field.


Football is a game that brings people together, whether it’s the players or the audience. It has the caliber to create an atmosphere of coherence. Champions League has its anthem that’s played before the matches are started. Written by Tony Britten, the chorus of the official anthem is in French, German and English.


The championship has limited spots. 79 teams from 54 members of UEFA will be competing with each other to qualify for the 32 final teams. Countries like Spain, Germany, Italy, and France happen to be the top-ranking teams of the tournament, but also other teams will train to replace the champions from their spot.

Ban on English clubs:

The grim incident happened in 1985. On May 29 a group of English fans charged at the Italian fans resulting in complete chaos and a stampede like situation. Before a match between an English club (Liverpool) and an Italian club (Juventus) could start, the English fans broke down the fence between the two fan flocks. The result of this caused the Juventus fans to fall back onto a terrace and the wall collapsed which caused the death of 39 people and around 500 injuries. It’s uncertain as to what caused the start but those responsible were prosecuted and English clubs were banned for a period of five years.

Fastest goal:

The tournament has the credit of having the fastest goal to its account. A Dutch player, Roy Makkay scored the fastest goal ever recorded in the tournament in 10.12 seconds for Bayern Munich.

Badge of honor:

Any club that manages to win five championship titles or 3 in a row is entitled to the UEFA badge of honor. Barcelona, Real Madrid, AC Milan, Bayern, Liverpool, and Ajax include the recipients of the badge of honor. The badge is simply stitched on their uniforms and shows the number of times they have won the trophy.


The event is the most-watched sports event in the field. The finals in 2012-13 were aired across 200 countries with a TV audience of around 360 million. This makes the event a marvel of its own where it cuts across the different boundaries and unites the world by spirit.


The UEFA keeps the original trophy to itself and the teams who won are entitled to a full-sized replica. This replica can be held by any team that musters up the skill to manage a win three or five times in a row. The trophy weighs around 7.5kgs.


The championship begins in late June where 79 teams from 54 UEFA members contest for the final spot of 32 teams. Countries like France, Italy, and Germany sit on the top spots, but given the unprecedented nature of the game, small clubs can, however, replace the spot. The UEFA is held every year that draws crowds from diverse backgrounds and glues them together by football. Not only that, the matches are packed with people where the show of sportsmanship and skillful players take the lead of the match. From the chanting of fans to the shots of adrenaline that pumps in the bodies of athletes, the UEFA 2020 is destined to make and break new records this year.