UEFA European Football Championship was founded in 1958 and hold events every four years in Europe. Earlier known as the European nations cup, the championship changed its name to UEFA in 1968. The event attracts the attention of millions of football fans across the globe and has a reputation of its own in comparison to other sports events of its like. Excluding the host team, all the teams are required to compete in a qualifying match. Earlier expanded to only 8 teams, UEFA became the first to have 24 teams in its finals.


In the summer of 2020, the championship will complete its 60th year of inception. Stretching across 12 cities of 12 host nations, about 51 matches will be played in a matter of 31 days. These cities include Amsterdam, Baku, Bilbao, Bucharest, Budapest, Copenhagen, Dublin, Glasgow, London, Munich, Rome, and Saint Petersburg.


All teams except the host are needed to qualify for the Euros. 55 of the UEFA members compete for the 24 spots in the tournament. The qualification matches started in March 2019 and end by March 2020. The qualification process gives Euro its needed and final competing teams.

London stadium:

Wembley Stadium in London will host seven matches in Euros attracting ten of thousands of football fans. These matches include three group stage matches, one last-16 match, both semi-finals and the showpiece final from 12 June to 12 July. The stadium is expected to host a huge influx of football crowd of 600,000.

Previous wins:

The Euro cup attracts millions of viewers across the world. In 2012 alone its final was watched by an audience of 300 million making it second to FIFA world cup. The recent championship was hosted by France in 2016. It was won by Portugal managing a score of 1-0 against the host team. Only ten teams hold the championship titles,  Germany and Spain each have won three titles, France has two titles, and Soviet Union, Italy, Czechoslovakia, Netherlands, Denmark, Greece, and Portugal


Apart from all the ten teams that have a single title to their name from the 15 championships, Spain is the only team that has two consecutive wins in 2008 and 2012. Spain can become one of the successful teams in Euro 2020.


Every winning team is awarded a trophy. This trophy has a history of its own. Before the first trophy could be held in 1960,  Henri Delaunay, first General Secretary of UEFA who proposed the idea of a European championship died in 1955. The trophy is that’s awarded to the winning team is named after Henri Delaunay and is called Henri Delaunay trophy. However, the trophy has gone through remodeling and the new trophy weighs around 8 kilograms.

4 teams-24:

During the infancy of the Championship in the 1980’s, only four teams qualified but in 1996 it expanded to 16 teams making it easier for the European nations to qualify for the cup. After the expansion of countries and the establishment of various clubs, the need to increase the participating teams arose and finally in 2016, it was extended to 24. The qualifying teams, as well as host teams, have to qualify for their position, unlike the older times when the selection was automatic in various cases.

Final venue:

The finals of the tournament will be held in London. Wembley Stadium will host the final match of UEFA and it also happens to be the home place of the English team.


When it comes to football, the craze takes on a new level. It’s a whole new world. We can establish that none other sport has emotional hype as compared to football. Euros 2020 is going to be hosted across 12 cities in 12 countries making it one of the most happening events of the sports industry. Billions of people glued to their screens and millions cheering are what makes football not just a sport but a faith itself. Apart from that, the winner of the tournament will earn a hefty sum of €34 million. The event will be full of athletic skills, adrenaline shots and a whole lot of entertainment, and if you’re guessing who might win, you never know.